Sunday, 13 July 2008

CONGRATULATIONS to Dineo Bopape, the new young lady of SA art

Dineo Bopape, arte bitchi, 2008
The latest news from the MTN Foundation webpage is that Artist Dineo Bopape has been unanimously declared the winner of the MTN New Contemporaries Award 2008. She receives R50 000 in cash, while the finalists Daniel Halter, Themba Shibase and Michael MacGarry have each won R5,000.

The developmental nature of this competition is structured to meet the purpose for which the MTN New Contemporaries Award is designed: to locate talented young artists who have not yet received critical acclaim but who are positioned to be leaders in the art field.

In 2008 Soweto-born contemporary art specialist, Melissa Mboweni was the curator. Her selection is already making an impact on the contemporary art scene. As she puts it, ‘I am pleased and honored, after an exhaustive research of the country’s top emerging young artists, to present the four finalists. Their works do not only reflect the social, historical and philosophical issues of the day, but also present new attitudes and ideas, and in so doing convey the aspirations of the next generation. It is a privilege to work with an organisation like MTN SA Foundation, which recognises the need to encourage creative individuals who will drive South Africa’s cultural environment in the future.’

The judges were Khwezi Gule, Nathi Gumede, Bongi Dhlomo-Mautloa, Kathryn Smith and Annali Cabano-Dempsey, selected their winner.

Dineo Bopape, Itchy Fairy 2007

Culled from MTN Press room


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home